Announcing the 2021 Paraclete Poetry Prize

Announcing the 2021 Paraclete Poetry Prize

Paraclete Press welcomes submissions for the 2021 Paraclete Poetry Prize. Submissions must be received by May 1, 2021. A long list of ten finalists will be announced on August 1, 2021, and winners will be announced on September 1, 2021. First prize: $1,000 honorarium and book publication in 2022. Second prize: $250 honorarium and book publication in 2022 or 2023.


Poets are encouraged to submit a book-length (65-85 poems) manuscript. A three-judge panel will select the winners. Judges will be Laura Reece Hogan (winner of the Inaugural Paraclete Poetry Prize in 2019), Scott Cairns, and Jon M. Sweeney. It is permissible (in fact, encouraged) for some of the poems to have appeared in journals, but none of the poems are to have been previously published in book form.


  • Administrative fee for entry: $30
    • Mail fee to: Paraclete Poetry P.O. Box 1568 Orleans, MA 02653
    • Email manuscript as a single MS Word file attachment (very little formatting please)
  • No manuscripts or fees can be returned.


Laura Reece Hogan is a Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net nominee, and one of ten poets featured in the anthology In a Strange Land. Her poems can be found in America, First Things, The Christian Century, Dappled Things, Anglican Theological Review, Whale Road Review, and other publications. Laura earned a JD from the University of California, Los Angeles School of Law, and an MA in theology from St. John’s Seminary in California. She is a professed Third Order Carmelite.


Librettist, essayist, translator, and author of nine poetry collections, Scott Cairns is Professor of English and Director of the Low-Residency MFA Program at Seattle Pacific University. His recent books include Anaphora: New Poems, Slow Pilgrim: The Collected Poems, Endless Life (translations and adaptations of Christian mystics), and a book-length essay, The End of Suffering. He received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2006 and the Denise Levertov Award in 2014.


Jon M. Sweeney is the author of more than thirty books, including Meister Eckhart’s Book of the Heart, co-authored with Mark S. Burrows, a critic, and the publisher at Paraclete Press. He lives in Milwaukee.

“Paraclete continues to issue carefully selected books of poetry. . . they have modestly put themselves into the front ranks of poetry publishers in America.” — Ray Olson, former poetry editor, ALA Booklist

“Paraclete Press has been publishing an increasingly adventurous catalog of contemporary poetry, ranging from the late Phyllis Tickle, one of the guiding spirits of the press, to Scott Cairns and Paul Mariani.” Library Journal

For more information contact publicist Rachel McKendree:


Previous article For Animal Lovers at Heart